Monday Praises Link-Up: Thanks to the Lord for Rest!

2 Sep

It’s time for our Monday Praises Link-up!  Many thanks to http://www.walkhumblywithgod.wordpress.com for hosting!

 

I have been relating to this cartoon a little bit lately:

43628690110012525_Dhf0HPGv_c

Having a 2 and 4 year-old is hard work.  So is being a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a church member, and the list goes on and on and on.  I get tired sometimes!

So today I am going to praise the Lord for a much-needed, much-deserved vacation with my family!  Whew, it is easy to get caught up in the business of life, isn’t it?  I have definitely been leading more of a Martha, instead of Mary, life.

As I am writing this post, I am sitting in my bed in Bonlee after a long day of cleaning and packing and child-rearing, but as you are reading it, I will have this view in front of me:

This pic is from our last beach trip-my toes are now neon orange!

This pic is from our last beach trip-my toes are now neon orange!

I am taking this vacation so seriously that I am packing no computer or Kindle, and I hope to go days without my phone!  It will be awesome!

Read these words of Jesus himself:

And He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a lonely place and rest a while.” For there were many people coming and going, and they did not even have time to eat. Mark 6:31

God means for us to take some time to rest, to reflect, and to spend some time with Him.  I can just imagine him sitting in Heaven waiting to hear from me!  He created us to spend time with him, after all. He doesn’t want us to be lazy, but He also wants us to rest and restore our bodies and our minds.

I want to thank God today for giving us the means to take a vacation, to rest our bodies and restore our souls.  I thank Him for a wonderful family who we get to spend time with and enjoy on our vacation.  I thank Him for giving me permission to rest from the world for a few days.

*Hopefully I can link-up to Monday Praises from my phone!  If not, I will link-up when we get home.

 

4 Responses to “Monday Praises Link-Up: Thanks to the Lord for Rest!”

  1. Amy Kelly September 2, 2013 at 6:40 am #

    I didn’t see your link up (don’t fret, there is time…)… But I am loving your praise today! I can relate to your cartoon too!! I often say I am “blessed to be stressed”. Thanks for the reminder from Mark that we need to take the time to rest!! Have a wonderful vacation!

    Like

    • mommyinbonlee September 2, 2013 at 8:29 am #

      It took me a few mins to figure out how to link up from my phone, but i finally got it! Have a great day!

      Like

  2. Nannette and The Sweetheart September 2, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    Enjoy your vacay!!!

    Like

    • mommyinbonlee September 3, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

      We had a wonderful time and are ready to get back at it!

      Like

Feel free to comment- I love hearing from you!

