30 Days

12 Nov

A big thanks to my mom, Charlotte Holt, for writing today’s post on thankfulness!

 

Every year several of my friends take the month of November to post things they are thankful for. This was going to be my first year to try it.

I made lists of things I am thankful for. I kept notes on my cell phone (one of the things I’m thankful for), notes on paper, random words that I would write on my checkbook so I wouldn’t forget when I wrote my posts.

It’s easy to think of things I’m thankful for. I struggled with putting it in a post on Facebook. If I put one thing ahead of the other thing, did that mean it was more important to me? I knew it wasn’t, but would the rest of my Facebook world? Did it matter?

This month I have found myself in a state of gratitude. I will be thinking of things I am thankful for and suddenly I am praying, thanking God for my blessings, asking Him to bless others. I have also found that when I am in a state of gratitude, I am happier. It follows me throughout the day.

I realize this is the way God wants us to be. It brings peace to my life.

Colossians 3:15 (NAS)Β And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful.

My intention for this writing was to list the things I am thankful for. I think, though, I will keep these things between me and God. But I want you to know, if you are reading this, I probably have or probably will thank God for you sometime during this 30 days of November.

 

Feel free to comment- I love hearing from you!

