31 Days Unplugged – Day 17 – Four Books to Change Your Mind, Marriage, Time and Faith

16 Mar

images

We are well into our 31 Days Unplugged Challenge, and if you are anything like me you are finding that, as you spend less time in front of your computer or with your phone in your hand, you have time to do other things.  

Amy Bennett is guest-posting for Mommy in Bonlee today, offering us a wonderful alternative to spending our time online: reading an actual book!  Amy is a working mom of 2 daughters from South Carolina.  You can read more from her on her blog, Amy J. Bennett.

fourbooks

I believe books to be life-changing.

I’ve always been an avid reader, but for years I only read novels.  I’d watch my parents read non-fiction books and it never looked appealing.  Perhaps because I was in school for so long and then had young children, the last thing I wanted to do in my free time was learn.

Somewhere in my 20’s I started picking up Christian non-fiction and I got absolutely hooked.  Even though I try to read a novel every once in awhile, there’s nothing I love more than gaining new knowledge and new perspective to help me grow.

I put together a list of four of my favorite books that have significantly impacted my life in different areas.  Reading a book a week, in just a month you could change your mind, marriage, time and faith.

Change Your Mind

I don’t know about you, but I struggle a lot with insecurities and self-doubt.  Renee Swope’s book A Confident Heart was such an encouragement.  She helped me stop the negative talk and build confidence in who God made me. So much of our struggle is in our minds and this book definitely helped strengthen my mind and heart muscles.

Change Your Marriage

I’ve read quite a few marriage books.  Some older favorites are the 5 Love Languages and Love & Respect.  A more recent, but less known book, that absolutely helped in my marriage is Beyond Ordinary.  After surviving an affair, Justin and Trisha Davis have solid advice on how to resist keeping your marriage ordinary.

Change Your Time

You may know Crystal Paine as Money Saving Mom, the blogger behind the uber popular home finance site MoneySavingMom.com.  Her latest book is Say Goodbye to Survival Mode where she’s gathered up all her best advice for the “super busy, the stressed out, and the overtired.”  She talks about everything from laundry to finances.  Crystal always challenges me on how to be intentional with my time. I’m really not sure where I’d be without her!

Change Your Faith

Christian fiction is my favorite type of non-fiction and there have been so many books that have shaped my faith.  One book that I like to recommend because it’s an older book is A Shepherd Looks at the Good Shepherd.  As an actual shepherd, Phillip Keller gives us insight to Jesus that very few of us, if any, in America can provide.  I walked away with a new appreciation for God’s love for us and a compassionate heart towards those without a shepherd.

I hope you’ve found some new books that might encourage you and would love to hear what books you might recommend!

5 Responses to “31 Days Unplugged – Day 17 – Four Books to Change Your Mind, Marriage, Time and Faith”

  1. amyjbennett March 17, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    One more addition I would add is that Battlefield of the Mind is another great one to change your mind! Thanks for having me!

    Like

  2. Mary Carver March 17, 2014 at 10:56 am #

    I really struggle with reading non-fiction. Which is strange, since that’s what I write and want to continue writing!! I did, however, LOVE Beyond Ordinary. I read it just a couple months ago and already have thought about reading it again! I read A Confident Heart a couple years ago with a Bible study group – that is my favorite way to read non-fiction, by the way, because I need the accountability to finish the books I start! And I can’t wait to read Crystal’s book. It’s high up on my must-read-soon list.

    Like

    • mommyinbonlee March 17, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

      Mary, I have the same problem! I have trouble reading non-fiction independently. I have a huge stack sitting on my nightstand as we speak!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some St. Patrick’s Day Confetti | Amy J. Bennett - March 17, 2014

    […] I wanted to point you over to a guest post over at Mommy in Bonlee today. I’m recommending 4 books to change your mind, marriage, time and faith.  I wrote this last month and if I were to write it again, I certainly would now choose […]

    Like

Feel free to comment- I love hearing from you!

