31 Days Unplugged – Day 7 – Question Your Motives

6 Mar

images

We have done so much this week, haven’t we?  We have almost cut off our use of social media, we have deleted other time-wasters from our phones and computers, we have memorized scripture, and we have found some better ways to use our time.  If you have had some moments where you have given in and checked Facebook really quickly or snapped a quick picture of the kids on Instagram (I know, they’re cute!!!), I urge you to continue forward.  We all have our weak moments, and forming new habits is hard!

Paul urges us in Philippians 3:12-14 to push on:

I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

Today’s challenge is designed to help you continue on in those weak moments.

Challenge #6- Question your motives.  When you get the urge to zone out online, what are you feeling?  Are you bored, hungry, angry?  Is there a certain time of day you are most tempted? Do certain events make you want to pick up your phone or sit down with your laptop and push the real world to the back burner?

I know that I tend to go mindlessly online when I am bored.  I am a stay-at-home-mom, and Facebook and Instagram are forms of entertainment when I get tired of talking to a 3 and 4 year old.

After you think about your motives, do something to change your habits.  Realizing that I turn to social media when I am bored, I need to come up with other things to do instead: read to the kids, organize a closet or cabinet, go to the park, call a friend, etc.

When do you turn to social media or other forms of online entertainment?  What can you do about it?

I was happy to see that my devotion this morning on She Reads Truth dealt with this very issue!  Go to today’s devotion to read a great in-depth devotion on this topic.  It really hits the nail on the head!

 

Feel free to comment- I love hearing from you!